There are many ways we grieve.  Some cry while others become busy; some open up and talk while others withdraw.  Do not try to grieve the way others expect you to.  Simply follow your heart and follow your own path through the stages of grief.  If you feel it would be helpful or if grieving lasts longer than a year seek professional help.


The first reaction to a loss, numbness or shock can help cushion the blow and can help you get through the initial mourning rituals. This stage can last a few hours, days, or even weeks.

2. YEARNING & ANGER (looking back)-

The numbness wears off, and the painful realization of the loss hits.  Here, people want to know “why”.  Often anger or guilt is felt as we blame and regret what could have been.    


The emotions of the second stage give way to a period of sadness, silence and withdrawal from family and friends.  

4. REORGANIZATION (being present)-

Here people stop asking “why” and start asking “what now”.  Over time, the sadness starts to lessen, and people begin to see a lightening of emotions.     

5. ACCEPTANCE (moving forward)-

The final phase of this model is to let go of the need for the lost loved one and accept what has happened.  Here we learn to forgive.  Sadness will lessen greatly, and new interests will gradually occupy your thoughts more and more. The final stage is when new traditions and memories are created.

If you or a loved one are experiencing grief from sudden changes or loss in your life please call us today for assistance.  We are here to help because we care.

Get Started

Managing Grief

The 5 stages of grief: